Computer Science

School of Mathematics, Science, and Engineering

Dean: Michael Odu, Ph.D.

Department Chair: Karen Cliffe, M.A., Silvia Nadalet, M.A.

School/Department Location: www.swccd.edu/cvlocation

Office: 215A, (619) 482-6344

Map: https://goo.gl/maps/C4E3PnKsdU92

General Description

Computer science is the youngest of the sciences and focuses on the study of computer software, architecture, theory, and applications. This discipline explores computing theory and symbolic computation, the nature of computer architecture and operating systems, data communications, graphics, software engineering, mathematical applications, robotics, artificial intelligence, and system software.

There are many curriculum choices open to students interested in the science of computers. Students interested in the hardware aspect of computers should look at the vocational and transfer courses offered in engineering and electronics programs. Students interested in the operations aspect of computers should review the programs offered in computer information systems and computer literacy courses.

The Computer science program at SWC focuses on the programming or software aspect of computer science and offers three academic pathways from which to choose:

  • Transfer preparation associate degree for students who plan to transfer and major in computer science
  • Career/Technical associate degree for students seeking employment at the technician level in science or mathematics fields
  • Career/Technical certificate

Career Options

Many career options are available for the computer science major, a few of these require an associate in arts degree, most require a bachelor’s degree, and some require a graduate degree. Possible career options include: computer scientist, systems analyst, computer service coordinator, software engineer, computer graphic specialist, high school or college teacher, data base administrator, researcher, program analyst, teleprocessing coordinator, knowledge engineer, technical control specialist, systems manager, data processing application programmer, information specialist and positions available in allied professions of business, industry, and scientific technology.

Degree/Certificate Options Major Code
Associate in Arts Degree: Transfer Preparation
Computer Science 01180
Computer Science (SB1440) 01185
Associate in Science Degree: Career/Technical
Computer Science 02190
Certificate of Achievement
Computer Science 02191

Consult with a counselor to develop a Student Education Plan (SEP), which lists the courses necessary to achieve your academic goal.

The program below is undergoing modification and the modification will be placed into an addendum upon Chancellor’s Office approval - see your counselor for further information and visit the college website under www.swccd.edu/catalog link for the latest addenda updates.

Faculty

Martha Carey, M.S.
mcarey@swccd.edu

Karen Cliffe, M.A.
kcliffe@swccd.edu

Philipp Diwa, M.A.
pdiwa@swccd.edu

Richard Fielding, M.S.
rfielding@swccd.edu

Youssef Francis, M.A.
yfrancis@swccd.edu

A.Minerva Garcia, Ph.D.
mgarcia@swccd.edu

Valentina Goldberg, M.A.
vgoldberg@swccd.edu

Peter Herrera, M.A.
pherrera@swccd.edu

Coryna Holcombe, M.S.
cholcombe@swccd.edu

Alexander Juden, M.S.
ajuden@swccd.edu

Romina Lingvall, M.A.
rtehrani@swccd.edu

Andrew Medin, M.A.
amedin@swccd.edu

Myriam Moody, M.A.
mmoody@swccd.edu

Silvia Nadalet, M.A.
snadalet@swccd.edu

Maria Olivas, M.A.
molivas@swccd.edu

Kimberly Puen, M.Ed., M.S.
kpuen@swccd.edu

Nghiep Quan, M.A.
nquan@swccd.edu

Miriam Rasky, M.A.
mrasky@swccd.edu

Zahra Salehpoor, M.S.
zsalehpoor@swccd.edu

Carl Scarbnick, Ph.D.
cscarbnick@swccd.edu

Bruce Smith, M.S.
bsmith@swccd.edu

Val Villegas, M.A.
vvillegas@swccd.edu