Step 4: Pay Fees or Request Funds

Enrollment Fees and Nonresident Tuition

All students are required to pay an enrollment fee and, if applicable, nonresident tuition.

For information regarding the Board of Governor’s fee waivers and other financial aid available to students. Fee structure is as follows:

Enrollment Fee

.5 unit $23
1 unit or more $46 per unit

Nonresident Tuition
In Addition to Enrollment Fees

Fee per unit $234
$234
Note: The fees listed in this catalog are in effect at the time of printing. Enrollment fees are subject to change through California State Legislation, and other fees are subject to change through Southwestern College Governing Board action. Please consult the current class schedule for the appropriate fee.

Nonresident Fee Exemption

Effective January 1, 2002, a new law (AB540) went into effect in the State of California providing an exemption from paying nonresident fees for certain nonresident students. While this exemption allows students to pay resident fees, it does not grant them resident status that would give them eligibility for any state-funded program. To be eligible for this exemption a student must meet the following criteria:

  • Attendance at a high school in California for three or more years
  • Graduation or attainment of a high school equivalency from a California high school
  • Enrollment in college not earlier than the fall 2001 semester

For more information on this fee exemption contact Admissions and Records.

Nonresident Fees

The nonresident tuition fee shall be paid at registration each semester or summer session and shall be set by the Governing Board of Southwestern College no later than January 1 of each year. Fees are subject to change on an annual basis.

Payment of nonresident tuition must be made at the time of registration, in accordance with the number of units in which the student enrolls. The full amount of the tuition required must be paid at this time; there is no provision for deferment of payment.

Enrollment in Error

Nonresident students, subject to payment of nonresident fees, who have been admitted to a class or classes in error without payment of the required fees, shall be excluded from such class or classes upon discovery pending payment of the fees.

Additional Fees

Student Center Fee
Chula Vista Campus Classes Only

Fee per unit $1
Maximum per academic year $10*
*

Beginning summer session extending through the following spring semester.

Parking Fees

Parking Fees for Southwestern Chula Vista/Higher Education Centers at National City/San Ysidro/Otay Mesa

Fall/Spring Semester

Parking permits are required beginning the first day of classes each semester at all Southwestern College sites. Except in metered or disabled person parking spaces, all vehicles must have a valid College parking permit properly displayed while parked at any campus. Permits are not valid in metered spaces.

Car/Multi vehicle (District wide) $40
Motorcycle $20
Eligible Financial Aid BOGFW Recipients $20*
Daily Parking $3 per day
Visitor Parking (Chula Vista Campus, Lot A) in green marked spaces $1 for 30 minutes
Meter Parking (San Ysidr and Otay Mesa) $1 for 45 minutes
Automobile Permit Replacement fee $40
Motorcycle Permit Replacement fee $20
*

Students who are receiving BOGWF Waiver, A, B, C.

For additional policies pertaining to parking fees please visit: www.swccd.edu (click on Admissions then on Tuition & Fees).

Health Fee

(includes the accident insurance/liability fee)

Fall/Spring Semester
.5 unit to 5.5 units $17
6 units or more $20
Summer Session $17

A health fee is collected to cover the cost of student accident insurance and to help fund the operational expenses of the Health Services Center (Ed Code 76355).

Students may be exempted for the following reasons:

  • Students who depend exclusively upon prayer for healing according to the teaching of a bona fide religious sect, denomination, or organization may petition for exemption from the health fee (available online at www.swccd.edu).
  • Students who qualify for a Board of Governors Fee Waiver A (BOGFW-A) to cover enrollment fees.
  • High school students enrolled at the Sweetwater Union High School District taking designated classes at high school sites only.
  • Students attending under an approved apprenticeship training program.
  • Exclusive online classes that do not meet on campus.
Accident Insurance/Liability Fee $2

Students will pay a $2 accident insurance/liability fee only if they are enrolled in:

  • Off-campus classes where no health services are available.
  • Classes at the Chula Vista campus which meet at times when health services are not available.
  • Travel study classes which meet outside of California.

Student Activities Sticker

Student Activities Sticker $8

Student Activities sticker holders are eligible for scholarships, emergency loans, graphing calculator rentals, use of the computer lab in the Student Center, and on/off campus coupons and discounts.

Proceeds from the Student Activities sticker are monitored and allocated by the Associated Students Organization to provide leadership opportunities and sponsor cultural, social, and educational programs for all students. Student Activities stickers, coupons, and other information can be picked up at the Information Window in the Student Center.

For credit/refund information, call (619) 482-6568, or stop by the Student Center Information Window.

Course Materials Fees for 2017–2018

Courses may require additional materials fees for a credit or noncredit course. Students are encouraged to review course equipment and supply costs with counselors, school deans, and instructors before registration. No science laboratory fee or deposit is required; however, students are liable for breakage and students will be charged accordingly. See the current schedule of classes for most recent fees. (See course descriptions for materials fees) (Ed Code 76365, Title 5 Section 59400, BP & AP 5030 - Fees).

Fees for Records

Students may obtain copies of any of their own records to which they have legal access for a fee of $1 per page. The first two official Southwestern College transcripts are free. Additional official copies may be obtained for a fee. See the Website for Southwestern College Transcripts. Unofficial transcripts may be printed from WebAdvisor at no charge. (Ed Code 762223, BP & AP 5030- Fees)

Exercise Science Facilities Fees

Where the District incurs additional expenses because a physical education course is required to use non-District facilities, students enrolled in the course shall be charged a fee for participating in the course. Such a fee shall not exceed the student’s calculated share of the additional expenses incurred by the District (Ed Code 76395, BP & AP 5030 - Fees).

Fee Schedule for Southwestern College Transcripts

Students may request transcripts either online at www.swccd.edu (click on Admissions then on Transcripts) or at the Admissions Office at the Chula Vista campus and the Higher Education Centers at National City, Otay Mesa, or San Ysidro.

Each student is entitled to two complimentary transcripts ever (regular mail processing only). Fees are required for additional transcript requests. All fees must be paid in full for requests to be processed. Transcripts are not issued until all outstanding accounts with the college are paid.

Cost per transcript Time to Delivery
First Two Requests:
Free (regular mail processing only)*
Additional Requests:
Regular Request
$5
5-7 business days from the day the request is received, plus mailing time.
Emergency Request
$8
1-2 business days from the day the request received, plus mailing time OR same day pick-up.
*

If you require expedited processing, you will be responsible for any additional fees.

Federal Express*

INCLUDES the $8 Emergency Fee (Delivery 1–2 Business days Monday through Friday only).

Location Cost Per Recipient
Continental United States $26
Alaska/Hawaii $29
International Federal Express $49
*

All Federal Express requests must be submitted online.

NOTE: Federal Express does not guarantee delivery to certain zip codes.

Refunds

Refund Policy

A student will be refunded registration fees for any program changes (withdrawals) made by the 10% point of actual class meeting days, which in many summer or short-term classes is the first day of classes. Please check with Admissions for date-specific classes.

REFUNDS ARE NOT AUTOMATIC. Eligible students should request a refund through the Cashier’s Office by phone ((619) 482-6308) or in person in Room S102 in the Cesar E. Chavez Student Services Building. You may also download and complete the Refund Request Form.pdf and submit as stated on the form.

Refund Deadlines

Students who officially withdraw by the refund deadline will be mailed a refund upon request only. It is imperative that a current address be on file in Admissions and Records. Refunds may take up to four weeks after receipt of the refund request. In most cases, refunds will not be processed until after the refund deadline.

Withholding of Student Records

The Dean of Student Services or designee shall withhold grades, transcripts, diplomas, and registration privileges from any student or former student who fails to pay a proper financial obligation to the College District. The student shall be given written notification and the opportunity to explain if the financial obligation is in error. The definition of proper financial obligation shall include, but is not limited to:

  • student fees;
  • obligations incurred through the use of facilities, equipment or materials;
  • library fines;
  • unreturned library books;
  • materials remaining improperly in the possession of the student; and/or
  • any other unpaid obligation a student or former student owes to the College District.

A proper financial obligation does not include any unpaid obligation to a student organization. The Dean of Student Services, upon proper notification and justification by administrators in charge of student discipline, may withhold student records, registration, and/or counseling privileges for students who are under suspension, academic or progress probation, or are in violation of any disciplinary contract. (BP & AP 5035 - Withholding of Student Records)