Southwestern College Foundation

The Southwestern College (SWC) Foundation was established as a separate private nonprofit corporation in 1982 to solicit and receive real and personal property from public agencies, individuals or estates; and to manage, invest and/or distribute such real and personal property for the promotion of educational services, programs, and facilities at Southwestern College and/or within the Southwestern Community College District.

Southwestern College Foundation funds are primarily used to award student scholarships, sponsor campus activities, and build the College’s endowment.

The SWC Foundation Directors are goodwill ambassadors for the College, giving of their time, talent, and treasury. Members are elected to serve three-year terms and officers are elected on an annual basis.


Chair - Ricardo A. Macedo
Bank of America

Vice Chair - Joseph Martinez
Seltzer, Caplan, McMahon, Vitek

Secretary - Halé Richardson
HomeFed Corporation

Treasurer - Cynthia Reyna
USE Credit Union

Past Chair - Benjamin S. Green
Green & Green LLP

Board of Directors

Melyn Acasio
Bank of Southern California

Sofia Corona
Appreciation Financial

Patti Finnegan
Niederfrank’s Ice Creams, Inc.

Ruben Garcia
U.S. Small Business Administration

Carlos Gomez
Prime Capital Equities

David Hoffman
Hoffman Hanono Insurance

Maria (Mery) Lopez-Gallo

Lisa Johnson
NTC Foundation

Hank Murphy
Retired Fire Chief

Jesse Navarro
San Diego County District Attorney’s Office

Gustavo Perez
Ernst & Young

Jean Roesch, Ed.D.
Community Member

Mitch Thompson
T & T Community Properties

Ex-Officio Advisor - Nora Vargas
Governing Board Member
Southwestern Community College District

Ex-Officio Advisor - Kindred Murillo, Ed.D.
Southwestern Community College District

Executive Director

Zaneta Salde Encarnacion
Office of Development and Foundation
Southwestern Community College District


Honorary Director
Harry Shank
Southwest Community Bank